Sorry for the silence recently. Operation Bridesmaid (OB) is still up and running but so is Operation get-the-house-ready-for-the-wedding which has involved sanding garden furniture, stripping walls of newspaper and cutting ten acres of lawn: all keeping me active I suppose.

Most importantly, the dress fits! So we can all breathe a collective sigh of relief, or at least I would join in but the dress is quite snug around the rib cage, so lady-like half breaths it is for me.

This is my third week of a month at home before the wedding, which is on July 4 (non-independence day) and I think the move back came at just the right time. I had been doing OB for almost two months and was starting to lose a bit of motivation and plateau. 

In coming back I had to change my routine and the instructor whose classes I go to now works entirely differently from the one at my other gym in Cardiff. That is not to say either are better or worse, just that they have very different methods and techniques which is good for shocking the body.

The classes I am doing are similar in name – combat, boxfit, circuits, LBT (legs, bums and tums) – but very different in style. Lee, my instructor up here goes very much for short explosive exercises and these achieve the same kind of results as interval training.  One class he teaches which I didn’t do in Cardiff  is kettlebells. This is VERY tough and not for the faint hearted.

Here’s a video of the kettlebells in action:

Lee’s kettlebell class uses very similar exercises. I did it yesterday and lets just say the hamstrings and quads are killing today. It is definitely a class I would recommend to others: it gets the heart pumping, works on your muscular endurance and burns fat all in one.

And as Lee says, “It’s only pain, it won’t kill you.”

