Break a sweat - tired of doing the same old moves? Interval training is for you!

Break a sweat - tired of doing the same old moves? Interval training is for you!

For those of you who have asked for more detail on the interval training I’ve been doing here you go. As I’ve said before, it’s courtesy of Wesley at Men’s Health, and so far I’m loving it:

Interval Workout

5 minute easy warm up

5 minutes short intervals – break down into 15 secs high intensity, followed by 45 secs low intensity. This should be done on a machine you rarely use, I’ve been doing it on the rower since I hate the damn thing.

5 minutes rest – this seems like a long time but you have to make sure your heart rate returns to its natural resting level.

20-40 minutes regular cardio – do this on a machine you use a lot, and keep up a moderately high intensity throughout. I’ve been using the bike for this one.

5-10 minutes long intervals – break down into 30 secs high intensity followed by 30 secs low intensity and gradually work up to doing 1 minute high intensity 1 minute low intensity. Do this on whatever machine you like. I’ve been using the treadmill.

3 minute easy cool down

I’ve been adding some super sets of weight training on the end for some toning benefits. I’ll talk more about that soon. Let me know if you try the workout and what you think of it.

